In addition to the 300-year-old Cho Quan church, Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) also has Notre Dame Cathedral and Tan Dinh Church, which are Catholic buildings built in the 19th century and exist to this day.
St. Joseph Saigon Seminary (Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1) was founded and built by French priest Wilbaux in 1863. This is considered to be the oldest Catholic building in Saigon and is one of The largest Catholic priest training center in our country. In it, the first seminary was built in 1863 – 1866 and the chapel built in 1867 – 1871 are two buildings over 100 years old.
Tan Dinh Church (Hai Ba Trung Street, District 3), built in 1870 – 1876. It attracts domestic and foreign tourists by its prominent pink paint color, different from most Catholic buildings in Vietnam. The entire church is painted pink on the outside and lighter on the inside since 1957. The whole church follows Gothic architecture, in which many details have Roman and Baroque style.
The main pavilion is creamy white, with a high ceiling, with two Gothic columns leading to the main altar made of marble from Italy, creating an elegant space that is no less solemn.
Notre Dame Cathedral Saigon (Cong Xa Paris Street, District 1), designed and constructed in the period 1877 – 1880, is the symbol of Ho Chi Minh City where visitors to the city come at least once to visit.
A special feature of the project is that all construction materials are imported from France, in which all red-orange bricks without plastering remain the same color to present. Two sharp peaks on the bell tower were added in 1984, once the tallest place in the city at that time, visitors considered a landmark to recognize Saigon from afar.
The church’s stained-glass windows currently have only 4 intact tiles from the beginning of the construction of a total of 56 glass panels, most of which were damaged during the war. The remaining doors were redone around 1949.
Notre Dame Cathedral bears the title of Basilica. This is a special title awarded by the Vatican, the supreme leader of the Catholic Church worldwide, to a number of churches or holy sites of special spiritual importance.
Cho Quan Church (Tran Binh Trong Street, District 5) was earliest built in Saigon 300 years ago. However, due to the war-ravaged war that had to be rebuilt several times, the present church is of Gothic architecture dating back to the time of its new construction in 1882.
Today, the windows here are not covered with painting glass, but only white glass, which is different from most churches in the city. The reason is that the original glass paintings are damaged, and have not yet found someone who can restore them.
Chi Hoa Church (Banh Van Tran street, Tan Binh district) was first built in 1890, it is also now. The work has a simplified French Gothic architecture style, not superficial and sophisticated. Initially, the religious surname here was Thanh Hoa, later renamed Chi Hoa in 1910.
Cha Tam Church (Hoc Lac street, district 5) was built in 1900 – 1902, for Chinese parishioners in Cho Lon area to celebrate, using Chinese words and languages from the past to present. The distinctive feature of this church is the architecture mixed between European and Chinese Gothic styles.
If viewed from the outside, many visitors mistook the entrance to the church for some temple. Because the gate is designed in a triangular style, the head of the blade, the roof of the glass, the rows of red-painted columns of Asian style.
Huyen Sy Church, also known as Cho Don church (at the corner of Ton That Tung – Nguyen Trai Street, District 1), formed in 1902 – 1905. The church follows the Gothic architecture. Inside the high tower, there are 4 bells cast in France in 1905. Located in the center of District 1, this place is also an attractive place for visitors.
Inside the church is the grave of Mr. Huyen Sy, who donates 1/7 of his fortune to build the church and is also named for the church. Mr. Huyen Sy (1841-1900) was born as Le Nhut Sy, commonly known as Le Phat Dat, one of the four richest people in Saigon and Nam Ky in the 19th century and the grandfather of the Empress Nam Phuong. In 1920, he and his wife were taken to rest at the back of the sanctuary, the tomb is made of marble, and on the grave is a statue of his whole body.